Adding search results to a table in a for loop... can I pipe?

I'm very new to R (like, just this week :)), and have what I think is a basic question...

I'm doing a sequence of searches in a for loop and putting the results in a table. The code below works.

library(tidyverse)
# Set up fake data
xA <- c(1:5)
xB <- c(11:15)
xC <- c(21:25)
df <- tibble(xA,xB,xC)

df
#> # A tibble: 5 x 3
#>      xA    xB    xC
#>   <int> <int> <int>
#> 1     1    11    21
#> 2     2    12    22
#> 3     3    13    23
#> 4     4    14    24
#> 5     5    15    25

AllResults <- c()  # need an empty vector first
for (xAlook in 2:4) {
  df %>% 
    filter(xA==xAlook) %>%          # get results that match criteria
    select(xA,xB) -> LocalResults   # only care about columns xA and xB
  AllResults <- bind_rows(AllResults,LocalResults) # append to AllResults
}

AllResults
#> # A tibble: 3 x 2
#>      xA    xB
#>   <int> <int>
#> 1     2    12
#> 2     3    13
#> 3     4    14

However, it seems like I shouldn't need to define LocalResults, but that I ought to be able to simply pipe it into bind_rows, like I've done below. However, as you can see, that didn't work.

Any suggestions?

library(tidyverse)
# Set up fake data
df <- tibble(xA,xB,xC)

AllResults <- c()  # need an empty vector first
for (xAlook in 2:4) {
  df %>% 
    filter(xA==xAlook) %>% # get results that match criteria
    select(xA,xB) %>%      # only care about columns xA and xB
    bind_rows(AllResults)  # append to AllResults
}

AllResults
#> NULL

Welcome to R! Hopefully your learning is going well.

A few comments here:

I think the way you are thinking about pipes needs a little tweaking. Think of %>% as an operator - just like + and -. No assignment actually takes place unless you explicitly tell R to assign a value to a variable.