Advice on working with big data (it's in Snowflake).

Hi all

I'm doing modelling (curve fitting, outlier detection) on a biggish data set that is sitting in Snowflake. Currently I am using DBI::dbGetQuery to obtain subsets of the data which I then save using arrow::feather and analyse using data.table and ggplot.

This is working for a small subset of the data (about 1%) but is already slow to process, even with data.table. Feather and ggplot are acceptably fast but summarising and doing calculations in data.table is slow. Now I need to work with a bigger subset of the data and I wonder whether R is the right tool for the job. Both memory and CPU seem to be constraints.

Anyone out there tried doing this and ended up moving to another analysis platform that can handle big tables (0.5B rows) (and calculation) much faster? Am I actually limited by my PC memory and CPU and need to work to cloud processing somehow (I have no experience with that)?

I'll check out this other thread too:

Thanks!

I've done datasets as large as 500K rows 500 columns, but had to subset on my reasonably well provisioned laptops (but not super tricked out). RAM was a limiting factor at a point even after relieving the ulimit constraint on how much RAM the OS will allocate (the default is usually 8GB in the Unices).

What I ended up doing was to shell script division into 25K row chunks for processing by fread() and rowwise feature extraction. An advantage was being able to detect and repair the occasional defective line at the shell level. Since if a script would run on the first complete batch, it would on the subsequent if there were no issues with some of the odder unicode points or missing lines. I think it ended up taking about 2-3 hours to loop over the file list, extract my features and append to a receiver object. But it would have been far too long for a set of files 1000 times larger.