appending dataframes to list named by variable

Hi R community,

So below I've got two bits of code for the same problem. The first is the actual code I'm working on (which obviously won't be able to run) and the second is my attempt at a reprex (though I'm new to this so forgive me if I've done this wrong).

Ok, so here's my actual code:

for (i in 1:nrow(enrichResList[[1]])) {
  #get the names of each ontology and the analysis and put it into an empty list variable 'v'
  v <- append(v, as.name(paste(names(enrichResList)[[1]], "_", enrichResList[[1]]@result[i,]$Description, sep = "")))
  #get the geneIDs for each and put them in the list variable as well
  v[[i]] <- append(v[[i]], enrichResList[[1]]@result[i,]$geneID)
  #split the geneIDs from 1 string into multiple strings
  v[[i]][[2]] <- str_split(v[[i]][[2]], "/")
  #set the names of each element in the vector to be the name of the analysis/ontology from line one
  v[[i]] <- setNames(v[[i]][[2]], as.character(v[[i]][[1]]))
}

#remove the top level from the list of lists so that it is a list of vectors with names corresponding to experiments
v <- flatten(v)

#for each of the vectors in the list, v, subset the FTD_Mouse_Ontology dataframe by the entrez IDs (individual vector elements)
#is there a way to keep these subset dataframes in a list of dataframes?

for (i in 1:length(v)) {
  #this splits the elements into separate dataframes with proper naming
  assign(names(v)[[i]], subset(FTD_Mouse_Ontology, entrez %in% v[[i]]))
}

So this works fine. Basically I've gone from an S4 object which contains a dataframe enrichResList[[1]]@result. Ultimately, I will be trying to convert all of this to a function so the [[1]] index is just a placeholder as I actually have 4 elements which I will want to process in this way.