Area weighted seasonal cummulative precipitation extraction based on crop yeild area file

I am new to R and have to calculate area weighted seasonal (Kharif= day 151-304 and Rabi= 305-90) cumulative precipitation over indus basin. Mean where there is some crop fraction (ranges from 0-1.57 for different crop types) area value is true either in full or a part of a cell, then precipitation only for that particular part of the grid will be used as mask to calculate cumulative precipitation

I have crop fractional area (cropfrac) file (.nc and .bin formats) with 30 time steps (1 value per year) with 32 layers for 32 crop types. I have daily precipitation data from 1981-2010 in ncdf 4 format. I have ascii files for areas (i.e. Indus, Ganges river basins).

To my understanding, first I have to read cropfrac file at all time steps and at all grid points (lat, lon) using loop and if there is some cropfractional area exist then I have to call precipitation data again for all time steps and al grid points, multiply it with cropfraction and grid size, sum precipitation over all time steps in a grid and finally divide by total crop and grid area. But how to make a connection in all these steps is missing.

Can anybody help or suggest me.

Thanking in advance and looking forward to receiving quick help and suggestions, please
direct contact ID: quratuetian29@gmail.com
best

Right now this question is pretty broad – I suggest you try to break it down into smaller pieces to try and make it easier for the community to help you with the parts that you're stuck on.

In general, it's much easier to discuss code by looking at the code itself. Could you turn what you have done thus far into a self-contained reprex (short for minimal reproducible example)? It will help us help you if we can be sure we're all working with/looking at the same stuff.

Currently, the best way to install reprex is:

# install.packages("devtools")
devtools::install_github("tidyverse/reprex")