Arguments imply differing number of rows. data.frame() Error / STM

Hello,

I am relatively new to R and and Im currently working on a structural topic model of a big amount of news headlines/leads.

I am trying to preprocess the data I have collected using the quanteda package but I produce the following error:

Error in data.frame(doc_id = rownames(iran$created_time, ), iran$created_time, : Arguments imply differing number of rows: 0, 67172

Here is my code:

iran <- read.csv("iran_complete.csv", encoding = "UTF-8") #reimporting the data I have previously collected and saved as CSV file. Three columns: created_time, snippet & headline. 67172 observations.
iran.meta <- data.frame(doc_id=rownames(iran$created_time,), iran$created_time, snippet=iran$snippet, headline=iran$headline, stringsAsFactors=FALSE)

I guess I have to convert the created_time column into a row as I later want to use it as the metadata in my stm analysis but this turns out be really tricky for me.

Any help is appreciated as I tried to solve this using other threads on this issues but without success.

Best
mmm

I do not understand what you are trying to do with the following part of your data.frame() function call
doc_id=rownames(iran$created_time,)
Are you trying to set the row names of the new data frame iran.meta? The vector iran$created_time does not have row names, so rownames(iran$created_time,) is returning a zero-length vector or NULL and causing your problem.

My goal here is to create a data frame for further preprocessing of my raw data to then use it in stm. This data frame should ideally consist of rows indicating the time when an article was published (created_time) and two columns (head, leads) for the respective article/rows with time of publication. My overall plan is to use the created time rows as the the document-level metadata in my structure topic model later on.