Assistance in combining row data with different variable

Hey guys, I am very new to R and need some assistance. I have a big data set with numerous variables. I have attached an example below

Age <- c(24, 24, 24)
Name <- c('Pete', 'Pete', 'Pete')
City <- c('PHI', 'MIN', 'TOT')

dat <- data.frame(Age, Name, City)
dat

I am wondering how to combine the rows together so it looks something like this with the cities all in the same cell, and being only one observation rather than 3.

Age <- c(24)
Name <- c('Pete')
City <- c('PHI, MIN, TOT')

dat2 <- data.frame(Age, Name, City)
dat2

The data has a few cases of double ups like this, but not all of it is double ups, so I am wondering if there is possibly a script to run through the whole data set and combine it as such, rather than pulling out each case individually, running this data and then putting it back into the dataset?

Any help will be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

Hi @joshrockd258, if these are all the same Pete, then the structure of dat would seem to be preferable from a data science point of view -- is there are reason you want the structure of dat2?

I should clarify my apologies, in this case they are all the same pete, but there are other names (with last names) and cases. There are about 40 other variables that are all numerical that will be summed and added later on in the analysis, but obviously cant be done with the city data

Could you say what it is you're trying to do with the data? That would help folks understand better how to help.