bad 'file' argument in RStudio

Hey All,

I am a true beginner, reached out to my professor and she instructed me to create a post in here, rather than look into it herself....so here I am!

The instructions in our homework say, "Now load the admissions data set, which contains admission information for men and women across six majors and keep only the admitted percentage column: " and provides the code below

load(admissions)
 dat <- admissions %>% select(-applicants)

I have ensured that I have tidyverse and dslabs already installed. But I continually get this error:

Error in load(admissions) : bad 'file' argument 

Does anyone know if I am doing something incorrectly? Or could it be an outdated dataset or something?

Try

load("admissions")

I get a different error:

Error in readChar(con, 5L, useBytes = TRUE) : cannot open the connection
 In addition: Warning messages:
 1: package ‘dplyr’ was built under R version 4.2.1 
 2: In readChar(con, 5L, useBytes = TRUE) :
   cannot open compressed file 'admissions', probable reason 'No such file or directory'

I told my professor that I suspected this dataset was outdated or may no longer exist as written....but I am not knowledgeable enough to say with 100% certainty

Where is this data supposedly coming from?

You write that the instructions say

*The instructions in our homework say, "Now load the admissions data set, which contains admission information for men and women across six majors and keep only the admitted percentage column: " *

Is there anything in the homework instructions about installing an R package or loading a library? Possibly in earlier instructions? I suspect that we may be dealing with a dataset specifically constructed for your course.

That first warning messaage suggests that you are not using the most recent version of R which is 4.2.1 under which it looks like dplyr was compiled. I do not think is is anything to worry about.