Best practice to handle out-of-memory data

Hello, I am a data analyst using mainly R and SAS.

While I generally prefer to use R and tidyverse tools for my data science and programming tasks, I miss SAS datasets whenever R data frames consume all the memory.

I could use variety of R packages to handle large data (bigmemory, ff, dplyr interface to databases, etc.), but unified binary data format on disk as in SAS has several advantages: ease of data management, no need to learn additional syntax, being able to create many intermediate datasets without caring about RAM (which makes debugging easy).

So, I want to ask R community:

• What are your ideas, techniques, workflows, and best practices to handle out-of-memory data in R ? (I assume that data is several gigabytes or bigger, but not as big as it needs large-scale infrastructure for distributed computing.)

• Is there any new technology or project to this problem worth watching ?

10 Likes

I've been connecting to a local instance of Apache Drill via Bob Rudis's sergeant, which defines a dplyr backend. It can operate directly on on-disk CSVs (or JSON, or Parquet, or...) with ANSI SQL as if it were a remote SQL server, which in practice means I can keep big (10s of Gb so far) rectangular data files on an external hard drive and run anything on them I like via dplyr without ever reading them into R's memory. It's reasonably fast, considering the size (though a well-maintained SQL server would be faster) and requires very little setup and maintenance.

20 Likes

Thanks!

It is a very interesting idea to use technologies for distributed computing to deal with data on a single machine.

While I have been interested in distributed computing technologies, I am intimidated by technical expertise required by those technologies, because our team is small and lacking in resources to set up and maintain large-scale infrastructure.