Best teaching platforms. Vary by audience?

I have two separate but related projects, both involving teaching data science principles with R. The first is more of a "typical" teaching environment, targeted at graduate students in the social sciences (mostly education, psychology, and business). The second is more experimental. I'm going to be working with middle school students in a math elective class.

I'm basically looking for advice on the best platform to use in each setting (maybe the same for both). RStudio Server? RStudio Cloud? RStudio Connect? Specifically with the middle school students, I don't want them to have to mess with installing anything, and I want the environment to be the same for everybody. I have no experience with any of the above, so I'm not sure on the similarities/differences, and which might be best suited for each task.

2 Likes

I've gotten in and poked around with RStudio Cloud a bit, and it looks like it will accomplish what you're looking for! I'm planning on using it myself for a summer workshop with high school students because of it's ease of use and accessibility, plus there's very little overhead (beyond creating the course and materials) on my part as an instructor.

2 Likes

Great, thanks! I will start there then.

1 Like

I’ve been using Cloud in my college level intro DS course, and it’s great. I think it would work pretty well for the middle school case. And for the other one, if one of the learning goals isn’t software installation it should still work well. There are (pretty high) limits on how big datasets can be so depending on your use case you might check those out first. (I’ve not hit the limit.)

4 Likes

Thanks Mine, that’s really helpful. I think I’ll try it out and will report back to let you all know how it goes!

1 Like