Books on machine learning

We've had some great threads on books for learning statistics and other topics recently! Machine learning is obviously a massive trend right now, and packages like keras look super exciting.

The trouble is, I have zero background in this stuff, and seeing some minimal examples of a package running isn't really the same as understanding what machine learning is trying to achieve and how it's going about it (perhaps contrasted with, say, regression modelling, which I feel I understand pretty well). I'm looking for some summer reading material (since, y'know, it's not like I have a thesis to submit or anything :cry:) to take me a bit further than the ML elevator pitch. Does anyone have any favourite books? I'm fairly language-agnostic (R would be preferred with Python a runner up, but again, I'm more interested in how well the theory is laid out). Cheers!

1 Like

A great starting place that I'd recommend would be An Introduction To Statistical Learning; it's a very well-written and accessible introduction to the area, complete with R exercises and code for you to get more familiar with. If you want a heavier version of the material (with more of the maths left in) from the same authors, check out The Elements of Statistical Learning.

For a nice, practical, online course introducing the basic concepts I'd recommend Machine Learning on Coursera; its fantastic content with some excellent hands-on exercises, and will give you some of the finer details and broader concepts, too.

5 Likes

edX also has a few worth checking out. This one from caltech is basically filmed lectures but the guy knows his stuff. Others have good reviews but I haven't tested them personally

I'd definitely be interested to know if anybody has a bookdown project underway featuring relevant R packages

1 Like