Building a microeconometrics app in shiny

Hi

I've been a subscriber for a ling time, but this is my first time posting here.

I've been using R the last years for personal projects and some professional tasks (little modeling. Mainly wrangling, cleaning and plotting data).

I'm interested in making a Shiny app to solve microeconometric models. I was an associate teacher of microeconometrics for a time, and in class we solved models with Eviews. It is a nice tool, but if the students wanted more advanced interesting outcomes beyond your average marginal effects, they had to do a bit of programming.

I want to create an app that does that, and is user friendly, and shows a variety of results beyond marginal effects and raw probabilities. For instance, a plot for average probabilities separated by category. Something like this.

And more results and contrasts (Hosmer-Lemeshow, etc.).

I think it would be an interested project and also good to practice with shiny.

My concert is that I'm a beginner with shiny. I've made some projects in different curses, but nothing more. I don't know if this project could be too big for a beginner(actually, my initial goal is to include only logit and probit. If things go ok, I would then include count, multivariate depenent, and censurated and truncated models).

Do you think a project like this is appropiate for a person with experience with R but not too much with shiny?

Regarding, thr project itself, any suggestions are welcome :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Sounds like a good beginner project. I think most people learn by doing and Shiny is great for that.

There are a couple approaches you could consider. You could sketch out what you want the app to look like on a piece of paper. That should help focus your concept and give you a target interface.