Calculating a mean from a specific population within a data set

Hello, I am very new to R. I would like to calculate a mean for a variable which is limited to a specific group of data which are defined by their values within another variable in the data set. How could I do this?

for example: "head_circ" in individuals whom are only in in "exp_group" 3

Thanks for any advice

Please share a reproducible example, so we can better help you

reprex : What’s a repr oducible ex ample ( reprex for short) and how do I do one?

mean(your_data$head_circ[your_data$exp_group == 3])

1 Like

Thats great, thanks. Is there also a way to perform the calculations even if there is missing data for some of the individuals. In this case case taking the mean of the available data?

mean(your_data$head_circ[your_data$exp_group == 3], na.rm = TRUE)

1 Like

I have then tried to use the same principle to generate a 95% CI

confint(your_data$head_circ[your_data$exp_group == 3], level = 0.95, na.rm = TRUE)

I then got the following error: Error: $ operator is invalid for atomic vectors
How should I edit the code?

confint()function is aplicable for a fitted model object, not a numeric vector. I think you are trying to get a confidence interval for your mean, for a simple approach you can use a normal distribution, something like this.

filtered_data <- your_data$head_circ[your_data$exp_group == 3]
m <- mean(filtered_data, na.rm = TRUE)
s <- sd(filtered_data, na.rm = TRUE)
n <- length(filtered_data)
error <- qnorm(0.975)*s/sqrt(n)
left <- m-error
right <- m+error

Thanks thats excellent. When I then search for the outliers outside of this confidence interval there are exactly 10 individuals on either side of the confidence interval on analyses of 8 different parameters I have looked at using the following subset analysis, can this be correct?

subset(data_set, variable < left)
subset(data_set, variable > right)