Calculating number of peaks within window - HELP translating MATLAB script to R script

Dear all,

I am a R newbie and looking for some help to translate a freely available MATLAB script into R.

The MATLAB script is designed to analyse a 27650x1 vector which consists of a bunch of peaks and troughs. Each element within the vector corresponds to a time of 0.04s (so first element is at 0s, 2nd is at 0.04s, 3rd is 0.08 etc). The MATLAB script is supposed to find the number of peaks in a ten second window, then divides it by 10, then stores that value in a separate vector, then the window should shift along by one second and the process is repeated. Original Link

The proposed MATLAB script, that I want to translate, looks like this:

% fake data
data = rand(27650, 1);

% Set parameters
sampleRate = 0.04; %time interval (sec)
windowSize = 10; %time (seconds), moving window size
windowIncr = 1.0; %time (seconds), window increment
n = length(data); %number of data points
start = 0; %staring point (time, sec)

% Calculate end time
stopTime = n * sampleRate - start;

% create vector of time stamps (this isn't needed but you might want it for plots, etc.)
time = start : sampleRate : stopTime;

% Window index size
windowIdxSz = windowSize / sampleRate; % !! This must be an integer!
if mod(windowIdxSz,1) ~= 0
error('Window size divided by sample rate must be an integer')
end

% initialize window index
windIdx = 1 : windowIdxSz;

% Number of indicies to shift window
windShift = windowIncr/sampleRate; % !! This must be an integer
if mod(windShift,1) ~= 0
error('Window increment divided by sample rate must be an integer')
end

% determine number of loops needed
nLoops = floor((n-start)/windowIdxSz); %floor() results in skipping leftovers outside of final window

% Loop through your data
nPeaks = nan(nLoops, 1);
for i = 1:nLoops
pks = findpeaks(data(windIdx)); % find peaks within your windowed data
nPeaks(i) = length(pks)/10; % store the number of peaks, divided by 10