Can't load packages as 'shared object ‘stringi.so’ not found'.

Hi everyone,

I'm very new to R and definitely do not have a knack for this but need to use it for my dissertation so I hope you can forgive me for not knowing what is going on.

I've been following Andy field's tutorials and have been trying to load tidyverse and here packages in r studio and keep getting this error message on my markdown:

Error: package or namespace load failed for ‘tidyverse’ in library.dynam(lib, package, package.lib): shared object ‘stringi.so’ not found

In my consol it then gives me this message at the same time:

Warning: package ‘stringi’ has no 'package.rds' in Meta/Error: package or namespace load failed for ‘tidyverse’ in library.dynam(lib, package, package.lib):
shared object ‘stringi.so’ not found

I've tried deleting and reinstalling stringi as suggested in other forums. I've moved it from the spot where it initially downloaded into my library and still no luck. I've also tried downloading the package "stringi.so" in case that was the issue (have no clue if that's a real package or not) but it said there isn't a version of that for my version of R.

A bit of extra context if it helps. I previously had R on my computer but was getting frustrated so in a moment of rage I deleted R, R studio and my library file before downloading so I don't know if that is the issue. Or perhaps it is because I'm using the latest version of R and R studio as of this positing data (that being R version 4.2.1 and R studio version 2022.07.0). Am also using a MacBook.

I'm very lost and would really appreciate any help as I need to get started on my data analysis soon and this is starting to stress me out!

Thanks for your support,
L

Successfully installing stringi should have solved the problem so maybe the installation process is failing. Can you post the command you are using to install and the complete console output you get?