Cast character column to date column - mutate and as.Date

Hi,

I'm quite new to R and dyplr. So maybe i'm making some stupid mistakes here.
I was trying to convert a character column from a dataframe into a date column. My data is stored in tables in spark (spark installed by using sparklyr).

When executing following statement :
mutate (tblvolumeDistribution , as.Date(castedDate,format="%d/%m/%y"))
I get an error telling me :
Error in as.Date(castedDate, format = "%d/%m/%y") :
unused argument (format = "%d/%m/%y")

If I don't specify the format in the as.Date statement explicitly :
mutate (tblvolumeDistribution , as.Date.character(castedDate,"%d/%m/%y"))
I get an error telling me :

Error in as.Date(castedDate, "%d/%m/%y") : unused argument ("%d/%m/%y")

Thanks for any pointer to help me casting the characters to dates.

Geert

1 Like

Hello,

What happens if you don't specify anything ?

mutate(tblvolumeDistribution, as.Date(castedDate))

I am not familiar with sparkly, so I do not know if the error comes from there.

You could also try with lubridate::dmy function.

Hope this helps

Florian

1 Like

similar to Florian's suggestion, you could try with pipes:

using lubridate dmy function
new_dataframe <- old_dataframe %>%
mutate(castedDate = dmy(castedDate))

using as.Date function
new_dataframe <- old_dataframe %>%
mutate(castedDate = as.Date(castedDate))

1 Like

Hi Florian,

thanks for your suggestion!

If I don't specify a format I get a column contain on all columns. Which makes sense as the date-format is not know by the as.Date function.

You could try using the dmy() function from the lubridate package. Then you would just do something like this:

tblvolumeDistribution %>%
  mutate(castedDate = lubridate::dmy(castedDate))
1 Like

HI,
I'm not sure I understand what you mean by

As per the documentation, base::as.Date format parameter

will try "%Y-%m-%d" then "%Y/%m/%d" on the first non-NA element, and give an error if neither works.