Change working directory for session crashes the R session in RStudio

Hi,

I'm completely new to all things R and I'm running RStudio version 1.3.1073 on Windows 10.

I'm using a network path (on my personal NAS) to store my files. The default working directory is:
\cylonraider\Misc\Repo\GitHub\RDefWrkDir
which works fine. In my working session I want to change it to \cylonraider\Misc\Repo\GitHub\learnR\ExerciseWrkDir.
Changing it to that location (using any method) throws up the following error:

R Session Aborted
R encountered a fatal error
The session was terminated.
Start New Session

Also, browsing to that folder in the Files pane fails with the same error.

Changing the working directory to C:\Temp works, but mapping my target folder to a drive and using it (like M:\RDefWrkDir) doesn't work.

Browsing to one level higher than my desired folder (\cylonraider\Misc\Repo\GitHub\learnR) and then using the menu to set the working directory to "Files Pane Location" works. But directly setting it to learnR also fails. Setting it to learnR using the above method and then browsing to it using the Files pane fails.

So there are 2 failures here - setting the working directory and browsing to it in the Files pane.

Its not the network path because the default working directory is on the same network resource and works fine. Assigning a drive letter doesn't fix it either.
Its not the path length - I've had shorter paths fail.
Its not something weird with the directory name - I've tried different directories under learnR with no luck.

Has anyone overcome this issue?
Please help.

Thanks
Ulric.

2 Likes