Code for comparing X with Y?

Hi

I'm a complete R beginner and am trying to write a code that wants to compare values of column X with that of column Y, to see if the values have a perfect match for each position. For instance:

Column X: apple, apple, apple, apple, pear
Column Y: orange, orange, apple, orange, pear

What would such a command look like? (perfect match would be at position 3 and 5)

Thx!!

Hi,

Welcome to the RStudio community!

This is easy to do with simple logic like this

#Get the data
myData = data.frame(
  x = c("apple", "apple", "apple", "apple", "pear"),
  y = c("orange", "orange", "apple", "orange", "pear")
)

#Do the comparison and save in new column z
myData$z = myData$x == myData$y
myData
#>       x      y     z
#> 1 apple orange FALSE
#> 2 apple orange FALSE
#> 3 apple  apple  TRUE
#> 4 apple orange FALSE
#> 5  pear   pear  TRUE

#Which indices are identical:
which(myData$z == T)
#> [1] 3 5
# same as 
which(myData$x == myData$y)
#> [1] 3 5

Created on 2022-02-13 by the reprex package (v2.0.1)

Have fun learning R!

PJ

2 Likes

Thank you!

How about taking this one step further. Let's say I have three boxes, A B and C with different fruits (apples, oranges, and pears). And I want to compare these boxes to box D, E and F to see if I get any matches. However, box D, E and F may contain fruits of different types, and I'm only interested to see if my fruit X in box A/B/C is uniquely represented in box D E F. So:
Box A: only apples
Box B: only oranges
Box C: only pears
And
Box D: apples and oranges
Box E: only apples
Box F: apples, oranges and pears

In this case, only Box A with apples would have a perfect match with Box E, since that's the only other box with only apples in it. How should one think when coding that?

R doesn't have a 'box' concept. I would seem to be free to interpret this in any number of ways, and then you would only benefit from my solution, if your data resembled it sufficiently.