Coin flip simulation

I'm a beginner with R and I am trying to design a coin flip simulation. I want it to start by having a dollar amount of x. When I flip the coin and get heads I add one dollar. When I flip the coin and get tails, I lose a dollar. I want the simulation to end when I get a certain amount of money. Then, how do I run it several times to find the probability that I will end with that certain amount of money.

Hi! Welcome!

People here are interested in helping others learn R for themselves, so it will help if you can give the problem a try yourself and post whatever you come up with — even if it doesn’t work or is incomplete. Then we’ll be happy to help you figure out how to solve your problem from there! :grin:

Also, just in case this is related to something you’re doing for a class, you should take a look at our Homework Policy.

1 Like

Here is what I came up with:

x=1
out <- c(x+1, x-1)
flip <- sample(out, size=5, replace = TRUE)
flip

I can't seem to figure out how to add on to previously generated numbers and then stop the program when I reach certain numbers. And of course, figure out the probability as well

1 Like

Try this:

x <- 1
x + 1
#> [1] 2

# But x hasn't changed
x
#> [1] 1

# Reassign new value to the old variable name to keep it
x <- x + 1
x
#> [1] 2

Created on 2018-09-03 by the reprex package (v0.2.0).

Before worrying about this part, you might want to revisit your problem statement. Part of it doesn't quite add up, at least as far as I can tell:

If the simulation always flips coins until you've got your target amount of money, then the probability that a given run reaches that amount will be 1 because you designed it that way — it's going to keep flipping as long as it takes to get there, every time. So I suspect what you wrote down isn't quite what you want to do.