Collecting tweets based on csv file with point coordinates

Hi,

I am new to R so I am sorry for any non-well formulated question.
I have a csv file with coordinates of points corresponding to places scattered around London and I want to collect people tweets in these locations to see how many people there are in each place.

I cannot find a code which shows where I should insert the imported file with coordinates so that I can run a query and select only tweets in those coordinates.

Thanks!

rtweet::search_tweets has a geocode parameter that may do what you want:

Also see hrbrmstr's book about rtweet, which includes step-by-step instructions for getting started and sorting out tokens and such:

2 Likes

Thanks Alistaire.

I have used this code:

hrc <- search_tweets("any", n = "1000", geocode = "-0.072841, 51.514047, 10me")

and got the following:
Error: could not find function "search_tweets"

Plus, I have 5,000 coordinate points (in a csv file) so is there a way to automatically insert all of them as geocode? it would be impossible to do it manually. The problem is that I have scattered places around, not just one big area with boundaries.

I also thought of extracting all the tweets I get from outdoor spaces in London and then clip the data to my coordinatesin QGIS, but I must find the right keyword to look for tweets.

Did you install and attach/load the rtweet library?

Thank you Mara.

I did install it and load it usign the following codes:

install.packages(rtweet)
library(rtweet)

Could you please turn this into a self-contained reprex (short for reproducible example)? It will help us help you if we can be sure we're all working with/looking at the same stuff.

Right now the best way to install reprex is:

# install.packages("devtools")
devtools::install_github("tidyverse/reprex")

If you've never heard of a reprex before, you might want to start by reading the tidyverse.org help page. The reprex dos and don'ts are also useful.