combining multiple csv files and adding a column

Hi All,

As a coding newbie I am struggling to combine 70 csv files into one. I also need the new file to include an additional (first) column to indicate which original csv file the respective rows came from (i.e. participant number).

I've tried the following, but I think it doesn't work because the original file names don't have subject numbers (i.e. only 4 columns), and I'm not sure how to add these to multiple files...

# needed for reading data
filenames <- list.files("CSV Raw Data", pattern = "stim", full.names = TRUE) 

# needed for identifying subject numbers
subjects <- list.files("CSV Raw Data", pattern = "stim") 

# this next line isn't used, but will be useful for combining the other data types, which don't contain subNum as a column.
testdata <- NULL
for (subj in 1:length(subjects)) { 

# extract participant number from file name
 p <- substr(subjects[subj],7,9) 

# read the data from csv
  psData <- read_csv(filenames[subj], col_types = cols(), col_names = FALSE)

# combine data array with existing data
  testdata <- rbind(testdata, psData) 

}

colnames(testdata)[1:5] <- c("subj","time","x","y","trial")

write_csv(testdata, "StimAllPs_csv.csv")

This gives me the following error message: "Error in attr(x, "names") <- as.character(value) :
'names' attribute [5] must be the same length as the vector [4]"

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Nushuhr

1 Like

I am not sure how the subject file relates to the name of the files you are concatenating, so in my example I just add a column file_id which will contain the file name - you will have to modify this so that it becomes your subj column. From your example the filenames and subjects is the same (apart from a full.names argument)? Shouldn't the patterns you are matching be different?