Connecting R with Database | Large Query Result

Hi everyone

I need some help related to R programming. It would be really nice if someone could help me. I am a beginner in R language.

I have one FACT table in SQL Server database, which will have around 10 million records. I am planning to fetch entire data through dbGetQuery and store it in a Data Table. Then perform some cleaning, create derived columns and at the end process the data.

I am little confused how should I approach this problem.

If someone has experience or have done similar thing, please let me know.

Thanks a lot :slight_smile:

I would check out this resource first. From there, here is how I would break down your task:

• do any filtering of records you would be removing in R before you bring the data into R. Let the database do that work for you
  • More generally, any work that you can have the database do for your prior to R is going to help
  • within dplyr, once you connect to a remote database, you can use the verbs to to operate on the data within the database as if it were a native R dataframe.

While I am guilty of doing the same thing (on much larger datasets), I would certainly attempt to keep as much of the data cleaning/filtering as you can within the SQL Server database as you can in order to avoid the overhead of data going over the wire. Basically, I would hesitate to just SELECT * the data into your R session.

3 Likes

Hi! Welcome!

I think it will be easier for people here to help if you can narrow down your question a little bit. What are you looking for help with first?

• Constructing the code to connect to and query the database?
  • Advice on how feasible your plan is performance-wise, or other approaches you might consider?
  • Pointers to resources for learning how to wrangle data with data.table? (when I’m in data.table land I always keep a cheat sheet handy!)
  • Specific help with data.table code?
  • Something else?