Copy a workspace

education

#1

I've set up a workspace for a class similarly to what is recommended in the "Learn" docs. Now I plan to open it up to a class of people for a couple of weeks. If I want to run the same class for new cohort, say a couple of months from now, is there some way for me to copy the entire workspace and leave all the student (unshared by contributor) projects behind?

A second question I have is whether I can copy a Project as an admin. I see that a user can do this, but Admin only has delete. It would be useful for projects that build incrementally.


#2

The copying of workspaces is on the roadmap (@Robby).

I am not certain what you mean by an Admin only having delete. The Learn documentation describes the role thusly:

Admin: can manage membership and can view, edit and manage all projects in the space.


#3

Currently, you can't make a copy of a project you create, but that's a limitation we want to remove. Would you expect any relationship (e.g. derived from) to be maintained between the original and the copy?


#4

For the use case mentioned here, which is just relaunching a course with a series of projects, it would be nice, but not critical to see what space it was derived from. It would be analogous to when a contributor copies a project.


#5

Sorry -- its not really related to role. If I created the project, I see 'Delete', otherwise I see 'Copy', so I'm trying to figure out how to copy a project I own. Am I missing something?