Corrplot - Axis labels grouping help request

Hi everyone,

I am new to R and have some questions regarding the corrplot package. I am trying to create a visualization for a correlation matrix (50x50) with each block of 10 variables belonging to a certain group, resulting 5 main groups. I have attached an example of the matrix as it currently is.

As the axis labels are a bit difficult to read, I would like to add additional x- and y-axis labels grouping each block of variables to their respective group. For example, variables 1-10 belong to group A. I would therefore like A to be presented on the left side of the x-axis and the top of the y-axis so that the figure is more cohesive. I would like to do this for all 5 groups. Below is an example of the code I have used:

Corr <- read.csv(file.choose("Corr.csv"))
Corrmatrix <- as.matrix(Corr, row.names = 1)
library(corrplot)
corrplot(Corrmatrix, is.corr = FALSE, tl.cex = 0.5, method = "color", tl.col="black")

I have not yet found way to add extra labels grouping the variables and any help would be greatly appreciated!

Frankly, I am surprised this worked as well as it did.

library(corrplot)
#> Warning: package 'corrplot' was built under R version 3.5.3
#> corrplot 0.84 loaded
set.seed(5389)
x <- runif(2500, min = 0, max = 1)
CorrMat <- matrix(x, nrow = 50)
corrplot(CorrMat, is.corr = FALSE, tl.cex = 0.5, method = "color", tl.col="black")
text(x = rep(-5, 5), y = seq(5, 45, 10), labels = LETTERS[5:1])

Created on 2019-10-08 by the reprex package (v0.3.0.9000)

2 Likes

Hi FJCC,

Thank you so much for your reply, the code works for me! I have tried applying the same principle to the y-axis (as I need the same labels for both x- and y-axes) but I have not had much success.

Can you advise on how to have the same labels on the y-axis as well?