Creating dynamic plots in shiny

I'm trying to have a plot render based off of what the user selects for an input and having some trouble. I can get the Input options up fine and the output to render, but it shows all of the data instead of just what the user selects. I think I'm close, but something is a little off. Any guidance here would be awesome, self-taught if you can't tell!

TestDT = data.table(
  Team = c("Oregon", "Villanova", "Utah"),
  "eFG%" = c(".5", ".6", ".4"),
  "TOV%" = c(".3", ".1", ".6"),
  ORBRate = c(".7", ".5", ".6"),
  FTRate = c(".5", ".6", ".4")
)

ggplot(TestDT, aes(x=Team, y=ORBRate)) + geom_point()

ui <- basicPage(
  selectInput("Team", "Select Team",
            c("Oregon", "Villanova", "Utah")),
  plotOutput("teamPlot")
)

server <- function(input, output) {
  output$teamPlot <- renderPlot({
    ggplot(TestDT, aes(x=input$Team,y=ORBRate)) + geom_point()
  })
}

shinyApp(ui,server)

Hi!

It looks like in your code above, when you render the plot, you are not filtering the data by input$Team, thus rendering all points.

To achieve what you describe, you should filter the data, either with sth like dplyr::filter(Team == input$Team) or with subsetting TestDT[TestDT$Team == input$Team, ], or any other filtering strategy you may feel more comfortable with.

You can do this either before or within the ggplot call (in the data argument).

Example using dplyr::filter

library(dplyr)

TestDT %>% 
      dplyr::filter(Team == input$Team) %>% 
      ggplot(., aes(x=Team,y=ORBRate)) + geom_point()
  })
}

HTH

This post was published by an Appsilon team member. Our company can help you get the most out of RShiny and Posit/RStudio products.

Check our open positions here.

Appsilon: Building impactful RShiny Dashboards and providing R coding services.
Appsilon_GIFsmall_whitebg