Creating table from image EXIF data

Hello,
I am very new in R and still learning main concepts. This is my first message here I hope I didn't post it in the wrong place.
I am trying to create a piece of code to:

1. Read image file names(and path) from a folder
  2. Extract selected EXIF fields of these images into a table.
  3. Save resulting CSV table to a folder (with column names, if it doesn't exist).
  4. On next run, read files from images folder, and add only the newly added files to above table, this time without column names, naturally).

I have tried something below, but no idea about possible pitfalls.
Ideally this should run whenever a new file added and, should record to a database table instead of CSV, but, this is something to start with..
I really appreciate if someone investigates the following code and indicate failure causes,
Thanks in advance,

> setwd("D:/Users/user/Pictures/2011-01-10")
> 
> library(data.table)
> library(dplyr)
> library(exifr)
> 
> f <- paste0(getwd(),"/","exifdata",".csv")
> if (!file.exists(f))
> {
> image_files <- list.files(path = ".", pattern=".JPG", full.names = TRUE)
> 
> current_image_list <- read_exif(image_files, tags = c("Make"))
> 
> write.table(current_image_list, "exifdata.csv", sep = ",", row.names=FALSE, col.names = T, append = F)
> }
> 
> mainimagelist <- read.table("exifdata.csv", header = T, sep = ",")
> 
> image_files <- list.files(path = ".", pattern=".JPG", full.names = TRUE)
> 
> current_image_list <- read_exif(image_files, tags = c("Make"))
> 
> rownames(current_image_list) <- c()
> 
> finalimagelist <- rbind(setDT(mainimagelist), setDT(current_image_list))
> 
> finalimagelist <- distinct(finalimagelist)
> 
> write.table(finalimagelist, "exifdata.csv", sep = ",", row.names = F, col.names = F, append = T)
´´´

It's very cool to see a use of exifr in the wild! Mostly I just hear about things when it stops working...