CSS formatting not showing when building blogdown new_site

Hello I am new to blogdown, when I create the default new_site(), it shows up correctly in the viewer as below:

However when I click the build website button, the html come up without any CSS formatting

I am using Version 1.3.1093 for Rstudio and R version 4.0.3 (2020-10-10)

Could anyone point me to the correct settings?
I have tried with different theme ... same outcome ...

brgds,
Millie

When I further look into the folder,
I don't see any rmd file for the post created on 2015-07-23.

instead I saw a folder as captured above and there is a index.rmd in it instead.
I am pretty sure some settings are incorrect, could anyone help me out?

brgds,
Millie

Welcome to blogdown !

I believe you have just install the last version 0.21, and this is why you may see some differences to past behavior or examples. That is great that you give us some feedbacks ! It means we really to update and improve documentation for newcomers on blogdown.

I will answer your two questions, starting by the second one:

About the Rmd file you think you don't see, it is there. The file is indeed index.Rmd in the folder you see. This is hugo's way of storing content using paged bundle. To know more, see

blogdown will now (since 0.21) use that by default, as it is a great way to organize content, specifically external resources like data or figures for you Rmd file. This folder is created when you create a new post using the addin or blogdown::new_post(). The content of index.Rmd should be the one you are expecting. You just need to edit it as any other Rmarkdown file.

About the preview, you also get the expected behavior. Hugo website are build before to be published on a web server (your own or a service like Netlify). While developing Hugo allow to serve the site locally before building it.