Debugging -solved-

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to R, and need some help in debugging this code. I got three errors that i couldn't find solutions online.

1. Error: unexpected symbol in "while (sqrt((SA-IT1)^2 + (V0-IT2)^2) > 0.1*(1+sqrt(IT1^2 + IT2^2)) and"
  2. Error in VA/VE : non-numeric argument to binary operator.
  3. Error: unexpected '}' in "}" .

Any help is much appreciated! Many thanks for your time

The code:

library(foreign)

#Solving nonlinear system of two equations following newton's | broyden's starting values.

VE = 47440291 
SE = 0.02396919
#SO = 4740291 
#sigmaS = 0.02396919
D= 33404048
r=2.32
T-t = 1

#SO = 4740291 
SA = 0.02396919

a = c(VE,SE)

fnewton <- function(x) {
  y <- numeric(2)
  d1 = (log(x[1]/D) + (r + x[2]^2/2)*T)/x[2]/sqrt(T)
  d2 = d1 - x[2]*sqrt(T)
  y[1] <- VE - (x[1]*pnorm(d1) - exp(-r*T)*D*pnorm(d2))
  y[2] <- SE * VE - pnorm(d1)*x[2]*x[1]
  y
}

#nleqslv(c(VE,SE), fnewton, control=list(btol=.01), method ="Broyden") \$x

nleqslv(c(VE,SE), fnewton, control=list(btol=.01), method ="Broyden")

nleqslv(c(VE,SE), fnewton, control=list(btol=.01), method ="Newton")

#Now, the iteration

V0 = 4740291
sigmaV = 0.02396919

#counter = 1
D1 <- function(V0, D, r, sigmaV, T)
{(log(V0/D) + (r + sigmaV^2/2)*T)/sigmaV/sqrt(T)}
D2 <- function(d1,sigmaV,T) {d1-sigmaV*sqrt(T)}
#SA = 0.02396919
f1 <- function(Va)
{Va*pnorm(D1(Va,D,r,SA,1)) - exp(-r)*D*pnorm(D2(D1(Va,D,r,SA,1), SE,1))-VE}
f2 <- function(Sa) {VA/VE*pnorm(D1(VA,D,r,Sa,1))*Sa -SE}
IT1 <- VE; 
IT2 <- SE; 
counter <- 1
while (sqrt((SA-IT1)^2 + (V0-IT2)^2) > 0.1*(1+sqrt(IT1^2 + IT2^2)) and (counter<1000)) {
  SA <- IT2
  IT1 <- uniroot(f1,c(0,VE*100))
  VA <- IT1 
  IT2 <- uniroot(f2,c(0,SE*100))
  counter <- counter + 1
}

``

Without a sample of the data you're using, we can't run your code and actually see what's going wrong (search around the forum for "reproducible example" or "reprex" and you can see examples).