document feature matrix means different features for training and test sets?

I'm new to ML. Suppose I want to do sentiment analysis of, say tweets. Using the blogs and tutorials at tidymodels.org I know I want to tokenize the tweets , create a DFM (or DTM) with one tweet per row and every word in the training set a column (aka feature) and then train the model on the DFM. So far, so good. None of the examples go to the step of fitting the model to test data.

What trips me up is that the test set will of course not have the same words/features as the training set so I can't fit the test set using the training set model. predict(trained_model,test_set_dfm) complains that columns are missing. You might say just create a DFM with all the words in both but what happens when new data that introduces a new word is fit? Or, what happens when, to shrink the DFM to a manageable size, I train on only the top-occurring words?

Thanks for your help.

You are going to get data-leakage if you create your document feature matrix before you do the split. If you are working within the tidymodels framework, I recommend that you use the textrecipes package to create features from text. This ensures that you do the same calculations during testing and training. Thus making it so you avoid most issues.

The below example is simplistic on purpose but it should steer you in the right direction.

library(tidymodels)
library(textrecipes)

data("tate_text", package = "modeldata")

tate_text <- tate_text |>
  select(medium, year) |>
  mutate(year = if_else(year > 2000, "2000s", "1900s"))

tate_text
#> # A tibble: 4,284 × 2
#>    medium                                                  year 
#>    <fct>                                                   <chr>
#>  1 Video, monitor or projection, colour and sound (stereo) 1900s
#>  2 Etching on paper                                        1900s
#>  3 Etching on paper                                        1900s