Does R automatically return function outputs, and if so is it automatically saved in the global environment?

Beginner here to coding, and just wanted to verify if my understanding of the 'return' statment for R functions is correct.

Basically, the return statement makes it so whatever output is intended to be created by the function is actually stored in the global environment for future use.

Without the return statement, the output would not be retained in the global environment, saved as variables for future use.

For example:

bargraph_creator <- function(data) {

if (data == "Group1") {
perdata.m <- melt(perdata[,c(1:5,9)],id = c("Time","Date"))
stringtitle <- "Group1"

} else if (data == "Group2") {
perdata.m <- melt(perdata[,c(1,6:9)], id = c("Time","Date"))
stringtitle <- "Group2"
}

}

In the above code, since no return statement is entered, if I entered in "Group1" as the input, my outputs (perdata.m and stringtitle) would not be returned?

Based on my understanding, your understanding is not perfect. The function can return a value without using the return keyword, as it returns the value of the last evaluated expression.

For example, consider the following example. It'll successfully print a named vector of 3 elements.

f1 <- function(x) {
    y <- x + 1
}

f2 <- function(x) {
    y <- x + 1
    y
}

f3 <- function(x) {
    y <- x + 1
    return(y)
}

a <- f1(1)
b <- f1(1)
c <- f1(1)

print(c("a"=a, "b"=b, "c"=c))

Here's the relevant documentation:

If value is missing, NULL is returned. If it is a single expression, the value of the evaluated expression is returned. (The expression is evaluated as soon as return is called, in the evaluation frame of the function and before any on.exit expression is evaluated.)

If the end of a function is reached without calling return , the value of the last evaluated expression is returned.

Hope this helps.