Doing Macros in R

I'm fairly familiar with SAS and know how to use macros to simplify repetitive tasks. However, I'm new to R and don't know how I can do that.

here's the code I got:

psd.coffee <- read.csv (unzip ("C:\Users\me\Desktop\FAS (PSD)\psd_coffee_csv.zip", exdir = "C:\Users\me\Desktop\FAS (PSD)"))

As you can see, the code extracts as well as reads the csv file that's within the zipped file. now I have a bunch of zipped files (e.g. psd_grain_csv.zip, psd_fruits_csv.zip, and so on).

I want to be able to create a new data set for ever zip file based off of the commodity without having to write the entire code all over again. Again, this would be a pretty simple task in SAS, but have no clue how to do it in R. Any help is much appreciated.

Macros in SAS are fairly analogous to functions in R

So in your example, one way to do that would be:

psd.func <- function(file){
    read.csv(unzip(paste0("C:/Users/me/Desktop/FAS (PSD)/",file,"_csv.zip"),exdir="C:/Users/me/Desktop/FAS (PSD)"))
}

psd.coffee <- psd.func(file="psd_coffee")

Something to that effect. Definitely double check my code but that's the gist.

EDIT: Updated so that the properly named object is created in the code.
EDIT2: In my previous correction I messed up the function param definition (type of "filet" instead of "file"). Also, for more efficient ways definitely look at @nwerth 's comment

1 Like

If they're all in the same directory, you can further reduce repetition.

psd_files <- list.files(
  "C:/users/me/desktop/FAS (PSD)",
   pattern = "^psd_.*zip$",
  full.names = TRUE
)
datasets <- lapply(psd_files, FUN = psd.func)
datasets[[1]]
# <Printed version of the first data.frame>

Or, you could use loops to write the code for you.

psd_names <- gsub("_csv.zip", "", basename(psd_files))
code_lines <- paste0(psd_names, " <- psd.func(file = '", psd_names, "')")
cat(code_lines, sep = "\n")
# psd_coffee <- psd.func(file = 'psd_coffee')
# psd_grain <- psd.func(file = 'psd_grain')