Edit Row Group Labels in GT

I'm creating a poster for a conference which uses data about kidney function and potassium levels.

I've created a summary table of data from within a much larger dataset and am trying to use the gt() package to create my tables.

(I'm a doctor, without formal data science training, and this is my first time asking a question (I've always been able to google the answers until now), I've tried to make a reproducible example but please go easy on me if I've not provided enough information!)

I created this data set by grouping according to levels of kidney function (ckdlevel) and maximum potassium (Max K+)

I managed (eventually) to figure out how to convert >= into so that it formatted properly

I want to convert mls/min/1.73m2 into mls/min/1.73m 2, but I get the following error message.

One option I've figured out is to use a footnote, but my supervisor is not keen on this. Is there a way to fix this?

library(tidyverse)
library(gt)
data <- structure(list(
  ckdlevel = c("<15 mls/min/1.73m^2", "<15 mls/min/1.73m^2", 
               "15-29 mls/min/1.73m^2", "15-29 mls/min/1.73m^2", "30 - 44 mls/min/1.73m^2", 
               "30 - 44 mls/min/1.73m^2", "45 - 59 mls/min/1.73m^2", "45 - 59 mls/min/1.73m^2", 
               ">60 mls/min/1.73m^2", ">60 mls/min/1.73m^2", "Missing", "Missing"
  ), 
  `Max K+` = c(" ltoet5 mmol/l", ">5 mmol/l", " ltoet5 mmol/l", 
               ">5 mmol/l", " ltoet5 mmol/l", ">5 mmol/l", " ltoet5 mmol/l", 
               ">5 mmol/l", " ltoet5 mmol/l", ">5 mmol/l", " ltoet5 mmol/l", 
               ">5 mmol/l"), 
  n = c(100, 200, 300, 400, 500, 600, 700, 800, 900, 800, 700, 600)), 
  row.names = c(NA, -12L), 
  class = c("tbl_df", "tbl", "data.frame"))

data %>% 
  group_by(ckdlevel) %>% 
  gt() %>% 
    text_transform(
    locations = cells_body(
      columns = "Max K+"),
       fn = function(x) {
str_replace(x, pattern = "ltoet", replacement = "<span>&#8804;</span>")
    }
  ) %>% 
   text_transform(