ENTER key runs a command

I'm new to R and on Dell Latitude laptop, Windows 10, and RStudio 1.1.419. In RStudio Console, both ENTER key and CTRL-Enter run a line of code on the laptop keyboard or a USB-connected keyboard. RStudio's Keyboard Shortcut list lists CTRL-Enter as Run. How can I have CTRL-Enter to run and disable Enter key from running a line of code?

The short answer is that I don't think you can do this. Sorry! What have you been trying to do that makes you wish this were possible? Maybe we can figure out a workaround.

Console vs Source in RStudio

In the meantime, here's some orientation to the Console vs Source Pane in the RStudio IDE (I apologize if I'm telling you stuff you already know!)

In the RStudio IDE, there is both the Console, and the Source Pane.

The Source Pane (top left) shows open script files (there will be one called Untitled1 open by default when you launch RStudio). The CtrlEnter shortcut really relates to script files in the Source Pane. The shortcut sends the current line of your script (or multiple selected lines) to the Console to be executed — you'll actually see the line(s) appear in the console.

(My understanding is that it's not quite true that CtrlEnter also runs code in the Console, it's more that Enter runs code and the Ctrl part doesn't do anything in that context).

The Console (bottom left) is where you interact directly with the R interpreter. Like most command line interfaces, Enter always runs whatever you have entered at the prompt (the >). However, R is smart enough to only run code that forms a complete statement. If you write a partial statement and type Enter, then R will allow you to finish the command on the next line. For example:

(R added those + signs at the start of each line, to show me I hadn't finished my statement yet)