Error: `by` must be supplied when `x` and `y` have no common variables. i use by = character()` to perform a cross-join.

Dear Learned Community,

I am very new to R and the tidyverse, so I beg your pardon for what may be a very basic question. I am trying to conduct a tf-idf analysis using TidyTools--more specifically, using Text Mining With R. But I am running into a problem early on.

Here's the relevant code from Chapter 3 of "Text Mining":

library(dplyr)
library(janeaustenr)
library(tidytext)

book_words <- austen_books() %>%
unnest_tokens(word, text) %>%
count(book, word, sort = TRUE)

total_words <- book_words %>%
group_by(book) %>%
summarize(total = sum(n))

book_words <- left_join(book_words, total_words)

I adpated it as follows, with 'stoppedwords.Baillie' being one of the the somewhat cleaned up corpuses. I removed the code for 'books,' since the Jane Austen library has all of her separate novels and I have no need at this point to split Baillie into separate plays (and the corpus is not structured with those differences marked, I don't believe).

First step:

book_words <- austen_books() %>%
unnest_tokens(word, text) %>%
count(book, word, sort = TRUE)

To:
tdfBaillie<-stoppedwords.Baillie %>%
count(word, sort = TRUE)

This does return a tibble that looks right--words ranked by frequency

Second Step:

group_by(book) %>%
summarize(total = sum(n))

To: total_words <- tdfBaillie %>%
summarize (total = sum(n))

This also LOOKS like it may be right, returning a tibble of one row and summing up as 219508 words. But then I run into trouble

Third Step:

To: book_words <- left_join(tdfBaillie, total_words)

This returns the following error: Error: by must be supplied when x and y have no common variables.
i use by = character()` to perform a cross-join.