Error on Shiny app

Hello,

My name is Jordan, and I am relatively new to Shiny and need some assistance on an error I keep encountering on my app. I have the user interface portion of it all set, but I've been struggling with the server portion for a few months, and I'm unsure where to turn to next after going through a plethora of resources.

Just some background on where the code. The work I do deals with sepsis and proteomics. Specifically, I look into the different signaling pathways that could play a role in sepsis progression and use modeling algorithms to try to identify therapeutic targets (proteins) in these pathways. A database called KEGG stores a plethora of signaling pathways. I’m using an algorithm called flux balance analysis which measures the efficiency and robustness of signal transmittance between different protein-protein interactions on a signaling pathway. So, the 1000 line R code that I have plots a biological signaling pathway with flux balance analysis values on it which highlights the interactions that are critical in maintaining network functionality/stability, after you tune the parameters which I was able to do. The code works perfectly outside of Shiny in a normal R script, but once I run the app and upload/input the parameters to produce the figure, it does not go through.

I've attached a few things. One is the code (in a normal R script termed "CEF.R"), another is the code using Shiny formatting (termed "Shiny CEF analysis.R"), third thing is an example excel file (termed "test.xlsx") to read in for reproducing the figure (termed "CEF Example plot"). I've also attached the Shiny GUI app and the error I receive even after inputting everything in the left side panel. When you run CEF.R script from beginning to end, you should get the CEF Example plot as a png. When you run the Shiny CEF analysis script, the app does

come up, but there is an error, even after uploading the parameters into the left side panel.