Error: package or namespace load failed - special character in filepath

I know there are already quite a few topics on this but none of the solutions in the other threads seems to do the trick for me. I'm relatively new to R so I would really appreciate some help.
Thanks!

Here is my issue:

I recently updated R to 4.0 for Windows 10 (64 bits) and ever since can't load any packages, no matter which ones I choose.
For every package I try to load I get this error:

Fehler: package or namespace load failed for ‘ggplot2’ in get(Info[i, 1], envir = env):
kann Datei 'C:/Users/Sebastian Höer/Documents/R/win-library/4.0/rlang/R/rlang.rdb' nicht öffnen: No such file or directory

The folder "4.0" in "win-library" does contain the packages I am trying to load but somehow R seems to be looking for rlang.rdb for every package instead?

I was also getting a warning during installing packages:
WARNING: Rtools is required to build R packages but is not currently installed. Please download and install the appropriate version of Rtools before proceeding:

https://cran.rstudio.com/bin/windows/Rtools/

I'm not sure if the warning is anything to worry about?

I've tried reinstalling R and RStudio but that doesn't do anything.

1 Like

install rtools and follow the instructions as per the link you attached.
after that try

update.packages(checkBuilt=TRUE, ask=FALSE)

Have you tried reinstalling rlang?

install.packages("rlang")

I already had rtools 4.0 installed and followed the instructions but when I tried installing packages: install.packages("package", "source")

I got these error messages:

• installing source package 'dplyr' ...
    ** Paket 'dplyr' erfolgreich entpackt und MD5 Summen überprüft
    ** using staged installation
    ** libs

*** arch - i386