Error Preventing Knitting

Thanks in advance for any help. I am a Rstudio newbie trying to knit a .html to submit a final assignment for a Coursera class that uses RStudio

I am receiving an error message that prevents knitting to .html. The message is as follows: "Line 268 Error in unique(natenvir) : object 'natenvir' not found Calls: ... eval -> barplot -> barplot.default -> levels -> unique"

The code chunk that apears to trigger the problem is below:

Steps for generating a barplot:

sets the margins around the barplot

par(mar = c(11, 11, 5, 2) + 0.1, las = 2)

draws barplot using the table (s3) with a legend in the bottom right

barplot(s3, legend = levels(unique(natenvir)), args.legend = list(x = 'bottomright'))

y axis label

mtext(text = "Proportion of Respondents", side = 2, line = 4, las = 3)

x axis label

mtext(text = "Religious Affiliation", side = 1, line = 8, las = 1)

I think you need to include some more information in order to fully diagnose this problem.

Can you include the rest of your code, especially the part where natenvir is created? (Keep in mind this site’s homework policy, and don’t include any of the verbatim text of your assignment, though)

In the meantime, as a guess: is natenvir a variable (column) in a data frame? If so, you need to refer to it with dataframename$variablename syntax. Also, if natenvir is a factor already, you don’t need to use unique() inside your call to levels() (levels on its own gives you a unique list of the factor levels). However, be aware that neither of those bits of advice may help — I need to see more of your code to know for sure!

Finally, a tip to help your helpers: it’s really hard to read code that isn’t formatted as code, especially since this site will misinterpret special characters as other kinds of formatting (that’s why all your comments came out as headings!). Here’s how you can make the code you post here look nice :sparkles:

Hi jcblum,