facing issue in using a code about Rselenium

Hi
I am new to R.
I am trying to follow a tutorial about RSelenium.
I have installed Java in my machine.
But I am not able to run this code.

rs_driver_object <- rsDriver(
browser = c('chrome'),
version = '110.0.5481.30',
chromever = '110.0.5481.30',
verbose = FALSE,
port = free_port()
)

============
this error comes
Error in selenium_ver(selplat, version) :
version requested doesn't match versions available = 3.141.59,4.0.0-alpha-1,4.0.0-alpha-2
=============

can anyone guide me, what am I doing wrong?

Hi @Wajeehaijaz93 , you need check the specific version in Chrome.

Open your Chrome browser and verify de version, next put the correct version in:

rs_driver_object <- rsDriver(
browser = c('chrome'),
version = '110.0.5481.30',
chromever = '110.0.5481.30', # put your current version here
verbose = FALSE,
port = free_port()
)

Other way is try connect to java . jar

1 Like

Thank you for your response @M_AcostaCH, Noted.

Hello to both of you @M_AcostaCH and @Wajeehaijaz93 ! I'm sorry to suddenly drop in, but I'm experiencing a similar problem and found this post. Unfortunately, I can't seem to solve my issue the error messages I get keep changing. I'm a complete layperson myself when it comes to R, I'm just trying to run a script I received in Rstudio.
The script uses rselenium to scrape Goodreads reviews via Chrome. It gets stuck at the end of this piece of code:

library(rJava)        # Required to use RSelenium
library(data.table)   # Required for rbindlist
library(dplyr)        # Required to use the pipes %>% and some table manipulation commands
library(magrittr)     # Required to use the pipes %>%
library(rvest)        # Required for read_html
library(RSelenium)    # Required for webscraping with javascript
library(lubridate)    # Required to scrape the correct dates
library(stringr)      # Required to cut off any leading or trailing whitespace from text
library(purrr)

#Paste the GoodReads Url