FAQ on how to install R under Ubuntu

Would it be useful to write a FAQ about the installation of R & RStudio under Ubuntu? I've seen a few questions (including my own) on the topic, and after struggling quite a bit, I think I know enough about the topic to write one.

Pros
Well, I think it's relatively self-evident :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

Cons

• possibly off-topic?
  • why a FAQ about Ubuntu and not, in general, about Linux installation? Because I have no first-hand experience with installing R under non-Ubuntu Linux systems. If someone else wants to integrate, be my guest
  • why not a FAQ about installation in general? Because I believe that installation under Windows & OSX is so easy that a FAQ is not needed, but again, if someone else wants to integrate with Windows & OSX use cases, be my guest

I thought installing R under Ubuntu was pretty straight forward. :thinking:

My common R problem on Ubuntu is that sometimes R packages require some dependencies that needed to be installed first.

To put it simply, I need to sudo apt install before install.packages().

I would not mind a FAQ.

1 Like

You are right, indeed: just installing R is straightforward. However, installing the right version for your version of Ubuntu, and configuring your trusted sources so that apt-get update doesn't complain about accessing unreliable sources every three minutes, is not as straightforward IMO. Also, I would cover "exotic" stuff such as dealing with proxy servers.

1 Like

Anyone else would like to chime in? I'm not sure what's the process (if there is a process) to create a new FAQ. Before writing anything, I'd like to hear the opinion of some other Sustainer or Moderator.

I think that your idea is good, but a bit vague. Maybe this page in CRAN can serve as what you are looking for in a FAQ for Ubuntu?