Find bar chart values

Greetings,

As a complete novice, I managed to create a bar chart of area measurements from two groups with the following code. Now I’d like to know the actual values (i.e., means) used for each bar and then test for group differences. Any help or suggestions with these questions are greatly appreciated.

roi1 <- ggplot(SampleData, aes(Gp2, fill = Gp2))
roi1 + geom_bar()
roi1 + stat_summary_bin(aes(y = lh.area.frontal), fun.y = "mean", geom = "bar", show.legend = TRUE)

Cheers,
Jason

I'll go for something like

## some data
Data = data.frame(value = c(rnorm(10000),rnorm(10000,5)), groups = rep(c('a','b'), each = 10000))
## the mean values for each group
DataMeans <- sapply(split(Data$value, Data$groups), mean)
## checking that the output corresponds with the simulated data (mean of a = 0, mean of b = 5)
DataMeans
## output
> DataMeans
      a           b 
0.004444622 5.013350561 

cheers
Fer

1 Like

Thanks for the quick response Fer,

This was extremely helpful. For calculating group means on multiple variables (e.g., 10+), do I have to list out each variable or is there a quicker way to specify multiple variables?

As an aside, what is the 'c' in the first line of code used for, what does it mean? I frequently see this in a lot of answers but have no idea what it means...:disappointed:

Cheers,
Jason

If with multiple variables you mean that your grouping variable has several different values, the split function will do the job for you:

## some data
Data = data.frame(value = c(rnorm(10000),rnorm(10000,5), rnorm(10000,10)), groups = rep(c('a','b','d'), each = 10000))
DataMeans <- sapply(split(Data$value, Data$groups), mean)
## checking that the output corresponds with the simulated data (mean of a = 0, mean of b = 5)
DataMeans
## output
> DataMeans
     a          b          d 
0.00673895 4.99842741 9.98537344