Finding n spatially-nearest neighbours in an effiecent way

Dear all,

I'm quite new to spatial analyses in R using the sf package, so I could use some help.

I have a data frame with point coordinates. For each row, observation, in the data frame, I want to find how many other observations are within x meters. My attempts so far have led me to use st_joinwith st_is_within_distance as the type of join, and join the data frame with itself. The following code gives an example of this approach for a data frame in spDataand x set to 100 meters:

library(tidyverse)
#> Warning: package 'tibble' was built under R version 4.0.4
#> Warning: package 'tidyr' was built under R version 4.0.4
#> Warning: package 'dplyr' was built under R version 4.0.4
#> Warning: package 'forcats' was built under R version 4.0.4
library(sf)
#> Warning: package 'sf' was built under R version 4.0.4
#> Linking to GEOS 3.9.0, GDAL 3.2.1, PROJ 7.2.1
library(spData)
#> Warning: package 'spData' was built under R version 4.0.5
#> To access larger datasets in this package, install the spDataLarge
#> package with: `install.packages('spDataLarge',
#> repos='https://nowosad.github.io/drat/', type='source')`

cycle_hire_P <-  st_transform(cycle_hire, 27700)

cycle_hire_neigbours <-  st_join(cycle_hire_P, 
                                 cycle_hire_P %>% select(geometry),
                   join = st_is_within_distance, dist = 100) %>% 
  st_drop_geometry() %>% 
  group_by(id, name, area) %>% 
  summarise(no_neigbours = sum(n()))
#> `summarise()` has grouped output by 'id', 'name'. You can override using the `.groups` argument.

head(cycle_hire_neigbours)
#> # A tibble: 6 x 4
#> # Groups:   id, name [6]
#>      id name               area             no_neigbours
#>   <int> <fct>              <fct>                   <int>
#> 1     1 River Street       Clerkenwell                 1
#> 2     2 Phillimore Gardens Kensington                  1
#> 3     3 Christopher Street Liverpool Street            2