Function that returns multiple values

Hi everyone,

I could really use your help! I'm very new to R Studio and I love it! But, I am trying to solve two issues:

1. I need to create a function that can take in a few values (x, y, z) and solve for the mean, minimum, maximum, and std. deviation. However, my code does not work and this is what I have.
    StatCount<- function(x, y, z)
    { a<- mean(x, y, z)
    b<- x[which.max(x, y, z)]
    c<- x[which.min(x, y, z)]
    d<- sd(x, y, z)
    return(a);
    return(b);
    return(c);
    return (d);
    }
    The error given says that "multi-argument returns are not permitted"

2. My second request is this: "In statistics, a dataset needs to be transformed in order to meet certain assumptions. Write a custom R function that takes any univariate dataset and creates a histogram of the raw dataset and a histogram of the log-transformed dataset."

How on earth can you take a random variable that is a dataset that is passed to a function to automatically generate a histogram?! Help!

Many thanks in advance,
Aerianna

A function can only return one thing but that thing can be a multi element object like a vector or a list. Think along these lines

StatCount <- function(x, y, z) {
... calculations go here...
return c(MEAN = a, MAX = b, MIN = c, SD = d)

This is obviously homework so I do not want to just give you the answer. How to the second part. How would you produce a histogram outside of a function? How would you produce a function of the log-transformed values? Very little about the task will be different inside of function except that the data set will be passed in as an argument to the function.

c is a function that combines values into a vector. For example:

x = c(3, 10, 11)
y = c("yes", "no", "maybe")

Run ?c to bring up the help file for the c function.

But you can also use c as the name of an object, like a vector, list, or data frame (although you probably shouldn't to avoid confusion). For example:

a = 5
b = 6