Getting connected @ rstudio::conf 2018: before, during and after

Hi there!

Attending conferences and meeting new people can be both overwhelming and unresultful at the same time.

Especially if you travel alone.
Especially if you attend for the first time.
Especially if it is a tech conference.
Especially if you are a great and fun person, but a little shy.

I'd like to use this platform and this topic to help people connect before the actual event and thus break the ice a little bit.

You can greet each other and share a little bit of personal info about you, to let other people relate to you :slight_smile:

7 Likes

Let me kick this off then.
I'm Taras Kaduk, attending rstudio::conf for the first time this year. I'm fairly new to R (have been learning it for about 2 years, and working in R for less than a year). I work in moving / logistics industry, and based in Jacksonville FL (I'm originally from Ukraine, living in Jacksonville now, also lived in Seattle, WA)

I've been to San Diego before, and would like to spend more time in the city when time permits. I arrive to San Diego on Jan 30, and ready to hang right away :crazy_face: (Well, that, or help out prepare for the conference if any volunteering is needed). Let me know if you'd like to connect!

4 Likes

@taras FYI in previous conferences, RStudio released a mobile app for the conference, where you can register as an attendee, fill in some info about yourself, and there was a chat feature. Some people were using that to coordinate rides/dinner/etc. They might do that again for this conference

4 Likes

That would be very cool!
I've seen something like that at Microsoft conferences (not an app, but more of a mobile-friendly website).

1 Like

@daattali We'll be releasing a mobile app again this year. I'll post it here as well as on the site.

4 Likes