ggplot choropleth map merging trouble

Hello all, im quite new to all this Rstudio. but im trying to make a choropleth map of Denmark. ive got the map to show and work from a .rds file from gadm.org. but when i have to fill each polygon with other data (csv), i fall short and have no idea how to continue.

library(sp)

DK <- readRDS("dk2.rds")

library(tibble)
library(dplyr)
library(ggplot2)

##here the map is showing and everything is fine

ggplot(data = DK, aes(x=long, y=lat, group=group)) +
  geom_polygon(fill="white", color="blue") +
  coord_map()

##now trying to add the csv file

DKtal <- read.csv("DKtal2.csv")

##merging the two files

final_map <- merge(DK, DKtal, by = "NAME_2")

##plotting the new map with the fill set at "tal" which should assign a value to some of the regions in denmark. but nothing happens

ggplot(data = final_map, aes(x=long, y=lat, group=group)) +
  geom_polygon(color="white", fill=tal) +
  coord_map()

##all it gives me is this message 
##Regions defined for each Polygons
##Error in layer(data = data, mapping = mapping, stat = stat, geom = GeomPolygon,  : 
##  object 'tal' not found

So all in all I'm having problems with merging the two datasets correct i think.
any body who has an idea on what to do here?

When you work with data from gadm.org, you are downloading rds file that contains sf or sp object.

I think you need to convert also the data you read from csv to the corresponding format (sf or sp) and work with sf :package: to merge the data.

Also, Could you ask this with a minimal REPRoducible EXample (reprex)? A reprex makes it much easier for others to understand your issue and figure out how to help.

1 Like