Git Path Question

I am a solo analyst and recently have found out about Version Control. I am attempting to connect R Studio with Github using this guide: https://happygitwithr.com/

I have made it through the first few steps but I recently got stuck on Step 12.4. Specifically I am stuck on the part * Check “Staged” box for README.md .

The image below is what I see on my Windows PC.

I noticed the files displayed in the Git Tab are located in C:\Windows
The Project I am working on is located in the path displayed in the picture.

System Information:

• RStudio Edition: Desktop

sessionInfo()
R version 3.5.2 (2018-12-20)
Platform: x86_64-w64-mingw32/x64 (64-bit)
Running under: Windows 7 x64 (build 7601) Service Pack 1

Matrix products: default

locale:
[1] LC_COLLATE=English_United States.1252 LC_CTYPE=English_United States.1252 LC_MONETARY=English_United States.1252
[4] LC_NUMERIC=C LC_TIME=English_United States.1252

attached base packages:
[1] stats graphics grDevices utils datasets methods base

loaded via a namespace (and not attached):
[1] compiler_3.5.2 backports_1.1.3 rprojroot_1.3-2 clisymbols_1.2.0 tools_3.5.2 fs_1.2.6 glue_1.3.0
[8] rstudioapi_0.9.0 crayon_1.3.4 Rcpp_1.0.0 usethis_1.4.0 git2r_0.24.0 packrat_0.5.0

I was wondering if it was possible to see my Project Files in the Git Panel? Thank you.

You probably have a Git repo in the C:\Windows directory. There's no .git folder in your project directory (at least, not one in your screenshot), so Git's found the nearest parent repo. Which is the C:\Windows one.

I would suggest getting rid of the repo in C:\Windows. If you have important work in it*, then clone it into its own project folder and use a lot of git mv in the command line to get the directories looking the way you want.

Then, open your project in R Studio, go to the command line window, and enter the command git init. That'll start a Git repo just for this project.