Going to a "column name" that has been calculated - "Error in if (diff >= 1) { : the condition has length >" 1

Hello team

I am quite new to coding in R and seems to have fallen into a fix for a while now.

For easiness sake, I have made a df - code below (as R does not allow me to embed more than 1 item as i'm a new joiner)

booked <- data.frame(Room=c(101, 401, 601), 
                                                              "2019-12-10", 
                                                              "2019-12-11",
                                                              "2019-12-12")

colnames(booked)<- c("Room", "2019-12-10", "2019-12-11", "2019-12-12")

data <- data.frame(Room=c(101, 401, 601), 
                                        Arrival=(c("2019-12-10", "2019-12-11",  "2019-12-12")),
                                        Departure=(c("2019-12-11",  "2019-12-13",   "2019-12-15")))                            

I need an output that tells me which all days were booked, something like this-
posit2

In essence, I need to first get the column name (which is a date) "calculated", but all sorts of errors pop up, including

"Error in if (diff >= 1) { : the condition has length > 1"

for(i in 1:nrow(booked)) 
  {
  for(j in 1:ncol(booked)) 
  {
    diff <- as.numeric(as.Date(data$Departure)) - as.numeric(as.Date(data$Arrival))
        if(diff >=1)
            {    y=as.numeric(as.Date(data$Arrival)) + diff -1 
                  booked$y = "booked" 
                  diff = diff-1
           }
        else
         {      y=data$Departure
                booked$y = "NA" }
         }
}}

Grateful and thank you if someone is able to figure this out!

There's an idiom to error messages in R that takes a while to get attuned to. In this case it is directing attention to a "condition" in if(). The parameter in if() cond. From help(if)