Help on interpretation of code

Hi all,

I am new to AML studio, and are picking up on R programming. In one of the tutorials about the dataset cadairydata.csv, I was taught the following codes. However, I am unable to dissect the code. Thus, would appreciate if someone can enlighten me.

1. the argument ‘inver’ appears not declared but it seems ok, how come?
  2. the function appears to be a function to test for error, is it not?
  3. if not doing the error testing, what code would get the same transformation of the value?
log.transform <- function(invec, multiplier = 1) {
  ## Function for the transformation, which is the log
  ## of the input value times a multiplier

warningmessages <- c("ERROR: Non-numeric argument encountered in function log.transform",
                       "ERROR: Arguments to function log.transform must be greate than zero",
                       "ERROR: Aggurment multiplier to funcition log.transform must be a scaler",
                       "ERROR: Invalid time seies value encountered in function log.transform"
                       )

## Check the input arguments
  if(!is.numeric(invec) | !is.numeric(multiplier)) {warning(warningmessages[1]); return(NA)}  
  if(any(invec < 0.0) | any(multiplier < 0.0)) {warning(warningmessages[2]); return(NA)}
  if(length(multiplier) != 1) {{warning(warningmessages[3]); return(NA)}}

## Wrap the multiplication in tryCatch
  ## If there is an exception, print the warningmessage to
  ## standard error and return NA
  tryCatch(log(multiplier * invec),
           error = function(e){warning(warningmessages[4]); NA})
}

## Apply the transformation function to the 4 columns
## of the dataframe with production data
multipliers  <- list(1.0, 6.5, 1000.0, 1000.0)
cadairydata[, 4:7] <- Map(log.transform, cadairydata[, 4:7], multipliers)

Hi and welcome to the community!