Help with download.file-how to skip over empty urls and save using destfile

Hi all,

Thanks in advance for any feedback.

As part of my dissertation I'm trying to scrape data from the web (been working on this for months). I have a couple issues:

-Each document I want to scrape has a document number. However, the numbers don't always go up in order. For example, one document number is 2022, but the next one is not necessarily 2023, it could be 2038, 2040, etc. I don't want to hand go through to get each document number. I have tried to wrap download.file in purrr::safely(), but once it hits a document that does not exist it stops.
-Second, I'm still fairly new to R, and am having a hard time setting up destfile for multiple documents. Indexing the path for where to store downloaded data ends up with the first document stored in the named place, the next document as NA.

Here's the code I've been working on:

base.url <- "https://www.europarl.europa.eu/doceo/document/"
document.name.1 <- "P-9-2022-00"
document.extension <- "_EN.docx"

#document.number <- 2321
document.numbers <- c(2330:2333)

for (i in 1:length(document.numbers)) {

temp.doc.name <- paste0(base.url,
document.name.1,
document.numbers[i],
document.extension)
print(temp.doc.name)

safely <- purrr::safely(download.file(temp.doc.name,
destfile = "/Users/...[i]"))

}

Ultimately, I need to scrape about 120,000 documents from the site. Where is the best place to store the data? I'm thinking I might run the code for each of the 15 years I'm interested in separately, in order to (hopefully) keep it manageable.

Again, thanks for any feedback!

Kari W

this is incorrect: as [i] is inside the " quotes, this means the literal string "[i]". You probably want to generate the destfile at each loop iteration:

temp.destfile.name <- paste0("/Users/.../document_number_", i)

download.file(temp.doc.name, temp.destfile.name)

Another thing is that if you're on Windows, you have to download the file as binary: