Help with ggplot2

HI all,

I am completely new to R, have previously been working with STATA, so forgive me my ignorance.
I am trying to install the tidyverse package, but are experiencing issues with the ggplot2 package and gives me the following message when i run:

install.packages("ggplot2", dependencies = TRUE)
Installing package into ‘C:/Users/brfdk/Documents/R/win-library/3.3’
(as ‘lib’ is unspecified)
also installing the dependency ‘rlang’

There are binary versions available but the source
versions are later:
binary source needs_compilation
rlang 0.2.0 0.3.0.1 TRUE
ggplot2 2.2.1 3.1.0 FALSE

Binaries will be installed
trying URL 'https://cran.rstudio.com/bin/windows/contrib/3.3/rlang_0.2.0.zip'
Content type 'application/zip' length 754726 bytes (737 KB)
downloaded 737 KB

package ‘rlang’ successfully unpacked and MD5 sums checked

The downloaded binary packages are in
C:\Users\brfdk\AppData\Local\Temp\RtmpwveHUm\downloaded_packages
installing the source package ‘ggplot2’

trying URL 'https://cran.rstudio.com/src/contrib/ggplot2_3.1.0.tar.gz'
Content type 'application/x-gzip' length 2863109 bytes (2.7 MB)
downloaded 2.7 MB

• installing source package 'ggplot2' ...
    ** package 'ggplot2' successfully unpacked and MD5 sums checked
    ** R
    ** data
    *** moving datasets to lazyload DB
    ** inst
    ** preparing package for lazy loading
    Error in loadNamespace(j <- i[[1L]], c(lib.loc, .libPaths()), versionCheck = vI[[j]]) :
    namespace 'rlang' 0.2.0 is being loaded, but >= 0.2.1 is required
    ERROR: lazy loading failed for package 'ggplot2'
  • removing 'C:/Users/brfdk/Documents/R/win-library/3.3/ggplot2'
    Warning in install.packages :
    running command '"C:/PROGRA~1/R/R-33~1.3/bin/x64/R" CMD INSTALL -l "C:\Users\brfdk\Documents\R\win-library\3.3" C:\Users\brfdk\AppData\Local\Temp\RtmpwveHUm/downloaded_packages/ggplot2_3.1.0.tar.gz' had status 1
    Warning in install.packages :