How can I overlay linear and non-linear curve?

Hi, fellow statisticians!

I am very new to R.

I am currently running a dose-response meta-analysis, following the tutorial provided by Shim et al

In short, the graph function uses the following command:

with(predict(varname, ref, order=TRUE/FALSE, exp=TRUE/FALSE), 
     {plot() lines(lower 95% CI) lines(upper 95% CI)})

Based on the tutorial, this function was used for both linear and non-linear curves. However, I would like to combine both linear and non-linear curve, along with their 95% CIs. My question is:

1. What command should I use to combine these plots by using the with() command. Is there any manual/reference I can look up to?
  2. I would also like to color the 95% CI area. I noticed that I can do that with Stata's rarea attribute in twoway function, is there any equivalent command in R?

Thank you very much

The best way to do something like this, (IMO) would be using ggplot2, rather than with() and plot(). The main gist of the difference (in a psuedo-code kinda way) is that with() would look like this:

with(predict(make_model(y~x,Data)),plot(...))

But ggplot() and tidyverse would look like this:

Data %>%
  make_model(y ~ x)
  predict() %>%
  ggplot() +
  geom_*(...)

The ggplot version (to me at least) looks a bit tidier. There are less surrounding brackets and the code flows easier. This is big thing amongst R users (base vs tidy), but I say use whichever makes your code easier for others to read.

So, you want to plot the main estimate from your data and a confidence band, I'd recommend using the geom_ribbon() function for the confidence interval and then when you get better at ggplot stuff, exploring the different themes available