How do I find which direction is the distribution of two variables skewed?

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/55317214/how-do-i-find-which-direction-is-the-distribution-of-two-variables-skewed

Can the Rstudio please help with this unanswered question on stackoverflow?

I am new to R and trying to start with statistical analysis to begin with:

Repex of my dataset(filterdacsom5):

Year       NAmeE Total_Population Median_Income   City State
1 2017 ZCTA5 00601            17599         11757  Adjuntas    PR
2 2017 ZCTA5 00602            39209         16190    Aguada    PR
3 2017 ZCTA5 00603            50135         16645 Aguadilla    PR
4 2017 ZCTA5 00606             6304         13387   Maricao    PR
5 2017 ZCTA5 00610            27590         18741    Anasco    PR
6 2017 ZCTA5 00612            62566         17744   Arecibo    PR

I am trying to understand which direction is the distribution of Median_Income(x) to Total_Population(y) skewed?

My Input:

plot(filterdacsom5$Median_Income,filterdacsom5$Total_Population,xlab="Income",ylab ="Population",main="Demographics plotted for all zip codes in 2017 ",col="red" )

I receive the output as this image:

But is this image plot sufficient to conclude that the distribution of Median_Income(x) to Total_Population(y) left skewed? What other test can be run to prove so?

If you are only interested on a measure of skewness, then you can use something like the moments package, I can't use your sample data because is not on a copy/paste friendly format but here is an example with built-in data.

library(moments)
library(ggplot2)
ggplot(iris, aes(Sepal.Length)) +
    geom_histogram(binwidth = 0.3)

skewness(iris$Sepal.Length) # Slightly skewed to the right
#> [1] 0.3117531

Created on 2019-03-23 by the reprex package (v0.2.1)